1. Compliance
  2. Guidance library
  3. AML/CFT Supervisory framework

AML/CFT Supervisory framework

Page last updated: 22 Nov 2019

The government agencies tasked with supervision of the AML/CFT regime are:

  • The Reserve Bank of New Zealand (RBNZ)- for banks, life insurers, and non-bank deposit takers 
  • The Financial Markets Authority (FMA) - for financial service providers including: issuers of securities, licensed supervisors, derivatives issuers and dealers, fund managers, brokers and custodians, financial advisers, peer-to-peer lenders, and equity crowdfunding platforms
  • The Department of Internal Affairs (DIA) - for casinos, non-deposit taking lenders, money changers, DNFBPs, high value dealers, RITA and other reporting entities not elsewhere supervised

AML/CFT Supervisory frameworkThe shared objectives of the three supervisors are drawn from the purposes of the Act. Read here an explanation of the actions, strategies, tools and techniques that are used by the supervisors to achieve these objectives.