1. News and resources
  2. Media releases
  3. Chair for Financial Adviser Code Committee re-elected

Chair for Financial Adviser Code Committee re-elected

Page last updated: 31 Jul 2013

Media Release
31 July 2013

The Code Committee for Authorised Financial Advisers (AFAs) has re-elected David Ireland as Chair for the next 12 months.

A partner at Kensington Swan and a member of the Code Committee since it was established in 2009, Mr Ireland will lead the committee as it keeps under review current regulatory and legislative developments and assesses potential impacts on the Code of Professional Conduct for AFAs.

“The Committee is about to consult on proposed enhancements in its first formal review of the Code since it came into force on 1 December 2010,” said FMA CEO Sean Hughes.

“David’s in-depth knowledge of the Code will be invaluable in leading the Committee through this work.”

Committee member Michael Staal was also recently reappointed to the Code Committee for a further one year.


Tony Reid on 021 739 052 or tony.reid@fma.govt.nz

About the Committee:

The Code Committee for Financial Advisers maintains a Code of Professional Conduct for Authorised Financial Advisers (AFAs). The Code establishes minimum standards of competence, knowledge and skills, ethical behaviour and client care, along with minimum requirements for continuing education, and training, for AFAs.

The current members are: David Ireland (Chair), Ross Butler, Shane Edmond, David Russell, Professor Dimity Kingsford-Smith, Gary Young and Michael Staal.

Information about the work of the Committee can be found at: www.financialadvisercode.govt.nz